Menu Close

Nebula Awards Conference in Pittsburgh

51st Annual Nebula Awards Conference

May 18, 2017 (Thursday) through May 21, 2017 (Sunday)
Marriott City Center, Pittsburgh


SFWA members and other individuals who are interested in science fiction and fantasy are welcome to attend SFWA’s Nebula Conference. People who purchase memberships for the Nebula Conference may participate in workshops, programming and special events throughout the weekend. You do not need to be a member of SFWA to buy a membership for the Nebula Conference; all are welcome. You can buy Nebula Conference memberships and Nebula Award Banquet tickets at:

Focusing on three tracks relevant to professionals in the genre, attendees will be able to choose from career management, professional development, and expert knowledge panels and workshops.

Nebula Conference members will be able to meet with major industry vendors throughout the weekend. 2016 vendors included: Amazon, Patreon, Kickstarter, Draft-2-Digital & Kobo. Our “Ask an Expert” sessions provides an opportunity to talk with industry professionals on a wide range of relevant topics.

The conference will also feature the prestigious Nebula Awards Banquet and Ceremony along with receptions honoring SFWA’s newest Grand Master and the Nebula Award nominees.

This conference is fully accessible and we will strive to make this event comfortable, safe, and engaging for all attendees.

The Nebula Conference will open up its Friday night Mass Autographing (May 19, 8pm-10pm, Grand Ballroom of the Marriott City Center Pittsburgh) to the public. We expect between 50 and 90 writers to be autographing that evening. People can bring books to be autographed (some writers may have a three book autograph limit depending on lines) or can buy books at the SFWA Book Store which will be open during the Mass Autographing.

SFWA’s newest Grandmaster Jane Yolen and Solstice winner Toni Weisskopf will attend.

Nominees who plan to attend include Charlie Jane Anders, S.B. Divya, Kij Johnson, Barbara Krasnoff, William Ledbetter, David D. Levine, Seanan McGuire, John P. Murphy, A. Merc Rustad, Jason Sanford, Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam, Fran Wilde, Alyssa Wong and Caroline M. Yoachim

Other writers who plan to attend include: Kate Baker, Jennifer Brozek, Michael Capobianco, Curtis Chen, Kenneth Chiacchia, Brenda Clough, Julie Czerneda, Andy Duncan, Scott Edelman, Timons Esaias, Susan Forest, Laura Anne Gilman, Joe Haldeman, Erin M. Hartshorn, Larry Ivkovich, Matthew Johnson, James Kelly, Mary Robinette Kowal, Geoffrey Landis, Mary Soon Lee, Terra LeMay, Michael Martinez, Joseph Newcomer, Jody Lynn Nye, Sara Pinsker, Cat Rambo, Kelly Robson, Stanley Schmidt, Lawrence M. Schoen, Bud Sparhawk, Steven H Silver, Jamie Stefko, Shanna Swendson Lynne Thomas, Mark Tiedemann, Diane Turnshek and Mary Turzillo.

For more information on the Nebula Conference see: Saturday night’s Nebula Award Ceremony will be Webcast, check the Website for more information.